The George & Barbara Fell Award

The award is named for George and Barbara Fell who founded the Natural Land Institute in 1958 and devoted their lives to the protection of natural areas in Illinois. They were committed to protecting Illinois’ natural heritage so rare and endangered plant and animal species would be here for future generations.

The presentation of the land conservation award will be at the Natural Land Institute’s Annual Dinner to be held on Tuesday, March 21, 2017, 6:00–9:00 p.m. at Giovanni’s Restaurant & Convention Center, 610 N. Bell School Rd., Rockford, Illinois.

The George and Barbara Fell Award recognizes...

  • Accomplishments that have significantly advanced natural area preservation, protection, management and restoration in northern Illinois.
  • Work in any area of activity (natural resource management, education, journalism, law, science) applied to stewardship of natural areas, restoration of natural areas, and the protection and understanding of natural diversity.
  • The best qualities of land conservationists the qualities exemplified by George and Barbara Fell through their lifelong dedication to the protection of natural areas.

This is an opportunity to give recognition to an individual who has demonstrated distinguished achievement during an entire career.

Please click here to download the Nomination Form.

Past recipients of the G&B Fell Award

  • 2016 - John White (Urbana, Illinois)
  • 2015 - Randy Nyboer (Morrison, Illinois)
  • 2014 - Dave and Nancy Voss (Rockford, Illinois)
  • 2013 - Jerry Paulson (Caledonia, Illinois)
  • 2012 - Judith (Judy) McCleary (Roscoe, Illinois)
  • 2011 - Richard and Karen Gadke (Capron, Illinois)
  • 2010 - Nancy Hamill Winter (Stockton, Illinois)
  • 2009 - William Howenstine (McHenry, Illinois)
  • 2008 - Russell Johansson (Rockford, Illinois)
  • 2007 - Dr. Richard Newsome (Beloit, Wisconsin)
  • 2006 - Lee Johnson (Shirland, Illinois)
  • 2004 - Mark Keister (Winslow, Illinois)
  • 2003 - Tim Keller (Sterling, Illinois)
  • 2002 - Mary B. Bushnell (Stillman Valley, Illinois)
  • 2001 - Jack and Joyce Armstrong (Rockford, Illinois)
  • 2000 - Keith and Mary Blackmore (Forreston, Illinois)
  • 1999 - Bruce Ross-Shannon (Rockford, Illinois)
  • 1998 - Dorothy Wade (Oregon, Illinois)
  • 1997 - Barbara Fell (Rockford, Illinois)